Practically Shooting

Pig Nose vs. Floppy Nose

Pablo

http://www.google.com/m?hl=en&gl=us&...q=glock+pignose

Here's what happens (been there, done that). On my Glocks and FN's if you hang a decent laser or light on there and shoot the gun until it's quite warm, the front portion of the frame will sag away from the slide/barrel. Ask me how I know this. The first time, with a green laser that was absolutely scary dead nuts on when I started shooting but as I shot more and faster the holes were deviating up in a PERFECTLY straight vertical line. Amazing really. At first, I was "what is going on with my grip", over? Then I saw how far the polymer had sagged. I true weakness of plastic. The good news is my Glock 17L is much less susceptible.

POINT: It's better to have your nose a little erect vs. floppy and limp when hot.

I think Glock pre-stresses the plastic a bit to compensate for limp nose.

• 5 weeks later...

The Glock is a battle weapon, first and foremost.

Laser alignment items hanging down from the frame attachment point is not what Glock had in mind. It was added to accomodate lighting systems (flashlights). People are certainly free to add what they want, but a small light is what's practical (Of note, it's what we carry, our choice if we want to, at our SO, however we cannot add lasers of any kind).

Here's why I bring this up ...

You're MUCH more likely to put many more rounds through the weapon in one event (sport shooting on any given day/hour) than a cop or military person is. When we all sport-shoot, we can often send many mags down the barrel in a single session; that does not happen in a real shoot-out. VERY FEW law or military shootouts even empty the first magazine. Heat into the frame isn't a big deal.