Practically Shooting

The Four Rules

BarryinIN

I was at the club range today and thinking about this, then came home and read a thread by Pablo on BITOG that made my mind up.

It's time for a post on the subject everyone gets bored with immediately: Safety

I'm going to post The Four Rules.

It's sometimes handy to have them on the tip of your tongue.

The beauty of these rules is their simplicity. Jeff Cooper worked these out when he started Gunsite/American Pistol Institute. He planned to train greater numbers of people than anyone before, ranging from complete novices to what is sometimes worse- assumed experts. Safety was paramount. With only a few days to get them more skilled than the vast majority of shooters, time was precious. Spending all of Training Day 1 on safety wasn't possible, and people wouldn't remember more than 20 minutes of it anyway.

So he condensed gun safety into a set of rules. Originally there were three rules, but later a fourth was added.

1- All guns are always loaded.

2- Never let the muzzle cover anything you are not willing to destroy.

3- Keep your finger off the trigger until your sights are on target.

4- Be sure of your target.

Just about anyone can learn these in minutes.

They cover just about anything.

While you shouldn't break any, you almost have to break two to cause injury.

Their simplicity is wonderful. A couple of years ago, I got a fat envelope from my gun club. Inside was a new set of range rules. All members were required to read them and sign a paper attesting to that fact. This monstrosity was 11 pages long and had almost 40 rules. If anyone besides the people who made that list read all of it, I would be surprised. If anyone can repeat more than two or three of those rules today I would be equally surprised.

The Four Rules could have replaced nearly all of the rules on the list. In fact, aside from the ones about shooting hours and signing in, I bet The Four Rules could be directly substituted.